Refrigerator Rights

refrigerator.jpgWho do you have in your life that has refrigerator rights?  Relationships happen at different levels.  There are those people in our lives who are just acquaintances, others who are “friends” and others who have fridge rights.  They are people who I would categorize as “family”.  They are the people who you are so comfortable with you tell them “to get their own coke”.  They feel free to offer you something out of your own kitchen.  Some of you are right now freaking out inside.  One, you would never think about doing that to someone else and two, you would be offended if someone did that to you.  Could it be that you are missing out one one of the deepest and most meaningful levels of relationships?  It has been these relationships (rare as they are in my own life) that have had some of the most meaningful and transforming impact in my life.  It is at this level that the masks come off and the reality of our struggles come out and the honesty of a friend changes our life forever.

Do you have any friends with refrigerator rights?  What fears, hurts, histories, are keeping you out of the kitchen with a few people?  What would it take for you to “get connected”?  Maybe you have discovered this true in your life.  What would you share with those who are struggling to find deep meaningful relationships?

6 thoughts on “Refrigerator Rights

  1. Hey Son,

    You can get in our refrig for more than just a coke. Why don’t you give us a suprise visit and help yourself. Hugs,
    MOM

  2. I really enjoyed this blog because after I returned to the lord and cleaned up my life I found that my “friends” just kind of fell away. I have maybe 3 really good friends in my life that have fridge rights, shower rights…yes I said shower. A friend from church came over and we dyed each others hair and she took a shower in MY MASTER bath shower. And I was happy to be able to offer her my best towel and best conditioner. Some of you might laugh but for a woman to share your own shower, towels, and hair products is really saying, I want you to have whatever I have!

    Anyway, Thank you for this. Because it reminded me that I shouldn’t be sad that I have fewer friends. I should be thankful that I even have one. It didn’t dawn on me that others may have never experienced this kind of friendship love.

  3. Laci,

    Good to hear from you. I have been thinking about you and James lately and wondering how things are going. I am glad to hear that you do have these types of friends in your life. They are critical especially in our times of deepest need.

    I am in Dallas right now and here I am discovering that I not only have refrigerator rights but also garage rights because that is where the Dr. Pepper is.

    I will give you a call sometime when I get back into town. I would love to have a cup of coffee with you and James sometime.

Leave a Reply

