Why Change?

Keep your coins I want change!

Keep your coins I want change!

Why Change?  Why not just keep doing things like we have always done them?

Some thoughts on change…

Change:   “When the winds of change blow hard enough, the most trivial of things can become deadly projectiles.” ~ poster at http://www.despair.com

Change:  “The key to change is to let go of fear” ~ Rosanne Cash

Change:  “Change is the essence of life. Be willing to surrender what you are for what you could become.” ~ Anonymous

Change: “What do you fear, my lady?” … “A cage. To stay behind bars until use and old age accept them. and all chance of valor has gone beyond recall or desire.” ~Aragorn and Eowyn in “The Two Towers” Lord of the Rings.

“Our fear, like hers, should be that we would go through life and not make a difference, that we would be stuck, a captive for life in a safe but meaningless existence.  There are many in the kingdom of God who feel like warriors trapped behind normalcy and the expectations of what has always been.” ~ Niel Cole, Organic Leadership

I love this last line – I believe there are warriors who have allowed their fears of the unknown to trap them in the comforts of the known and their warrior skills and abilities go wasted.  And then there are many warriors who, because of their fear of going through life and not making a difference are stepping out and taking a risk for God.  Stepping into the unknown and leaving a life of normalcy and what has always been and are using their God given skills to change the culture and world around them.

Which one are you?  When the battle is over will you have hidden in the fox hole of meaningless existence or will you have been a warrior who’s life made a difference?  When it is all said and done I want to have lived my life to the fullest and have made a difference.

2 thoughts on “Why Change?

  1. I was thinking about this the other day because it’s hard to imagine that little-ol’-me (I didn’t say old) could make a difference in someone else’s life. But, I finally decided that if I could do something as little as cause someone else to smile or even breathe a brief sigh of relief, I would have made a difference. I’m going to start small and let God do the rest!

Leave a Reply

