Obstacles – What stands in your way?

At 20,000 feet the mountain looms with massive beauty and intimidation as it calls out, “go ahead I dare you”.  “I dare you to try and overcome the obstacles I will present and make it to the top.”

Obstacles = “A thing that blocks ones way or prevents or hinders progress.”

Some of the obstacles I face in this adventure are fairly simple to overcome while others still stand before me in the great unknown of their magnitude.  The obstacles to Kili have arrived even before I depart for Tanzania.  There is so much to do and so little TIME to get it all done.  How often does time stand in our way to accomplishing things of importance in life.  I have had to set priorities to overcome this obstacle.

MONEY is another obstacle that stands in the way before the mountain ever comes into view.  I could use all sorts of excuses like “we just moved and the account is running dry”. How often does money stop us from accomplishing the great things set before us.  Again I must prioritize my life and spending for what matters.

There are many other little obstacles that must be overcome before the mountain is seen.  Obstacles like, passports, shots, purchasing gear, physical training, etc.  However it is the mountain itself that holds the real obstacles.  20,000 feet, 5 climate zones, foreign land, physical and mental exertion, Altitude sickness, along with other obstacles I am still unaware of.

Why the blog about obstacles?

As I ponder these obstacles the reason for this climb is made clear.  I am climbing with team world vision in an aggressive effort to change 500 – 1000 children’s lives forever by helping to remove obstacles in their life.  Each climber has an obstacle to overcome and that is to engage 50 to 100 people in sponsoring children (not a simple task).

The clarity has come home to me as I look at the mountain and put the obstacles to getting to the summit in perspective with what is at its base.  At the base of this  mountain is Tanzania  where children travel 4 – 7 miles round trip twice per day to fetch water that is filled with disease.  Where children live with the loss of loved ones  due to aids.  Where children are denied the privilede of education in order that they might simply survive.  Where children lack the resources to meet their basic physical needs.   These are their obstacles to a fulfilling life and often times to life itself. The child mortality rate is very high.

Fetching water stands in their way of gettiung an education.  Lack of education stands in their way their future. Disease filled water stands in their way of health.

Perspective… I can do things to overcome my obstacles.  I can train, raise support,  climb with experienced guides, climb with a team, eat out less, give up an occasional Starbucks, etc.

The promise of Jeremiah 29:11 is as real for these children and their families as it is for me and my family and you and your family.  God says, “I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans for a hope and a future.” As I continue to ponder this I am confronted with the reality of obstacles.  What is the hope and future for these childrn and their families?   I can do something about my obstacles.

Their obstacles will continue to defeat them unless someone helps to remove them.  God has chosen to give them a hope and a future and that hope rests in our hands.  All the resources are available.  God has provided everything needed.  The problem isn’t its availability it is its release.

If you would like to help remove the obstacles in a childs life, lessen their vulnerability, provide them with clean water, education, medical resources etc., please click on the following link and for less than you probably spend monthly on entertainment, coffee, dining out etc, you can give a child a hope and a future.

What obstacles stand in your way to making a difference in your world.  can you overcome them or will they keep you from the joy found at the summit.

Click here to make a difference … Team World Vision – Kilimanjaro Climb – Athlete Name… Darrell

Leave a Reply

