Living the Adventure or reading about it?

20120617-083127.jpg

Life is filled with adventures waiting to be experienced. I’m waiting to stand next to this sign but the adventure has already begun. One of the best selling novels on the electronic shelves of today are adventure novels and stories filled with action and intrigue. Movie lines are filled with people who want to see some action and adventure and romance. People are drawn into these stories.

I have noticed however that there are two different types of people. One type lives through the adventures of others. They are the people who like to read about adventures. They cuddle up with a good novel or blog and journey vicariously through the characters in the story.

I am not that kind of person. I want to live the adventure. Don’t misunderstand me. I love a good action adventure blog, book or movie. I love, like many, to be encouraged and inspired through the blogging of the Lesley Carters of our world. But I want to personally experience the thrill of victory and the, well… thrill of victory… I want to read about the agony of defeat. Nobody wants to experience defeat. Except that is part of living the adventure. The thrill of victory I think is often in direct proportion to the potential defeat. Therefore I have embraced that potential in life in order to personally live the adventure. The risk is worth it for me to get to personally experience the story and not just read about it.

I wonder if maybe it is the fear of the agony of defeat that keeps many on the sideline in the novel or blog and out of the game. Unwilling to take the risk in order to experience the thrill of victory.

Do you have dreams that are being set aside due to fear of failure?

Is fear of failure creating a hole in your bucket allowing your dreams to drain out and your bucket List to dry up?

What would it take for you to plug that hole, refill your bucket and start living your list?

Now I post this with the fear of being misunderstood.

Living the adventure in my lifetime

Leave a Reply

